West Virginia Contractor License

West Virginia Contractor License

Thinking of starting your new contracting business in West Virginia? You are probably in need of a well-researched article that will discuss every little detail of the licensing process in the state.

We are here to help you get your new business launched effortlessly as we covered topics such as; how to get your contractor’s license in WV, the necessity of obtaining it, local and state-issued requirements of licensure, laws, and regulations applied exclusively in the state, costs, the license lookup and more.

How do I get a contractor’s license in WV?

In West Virginia, the process of licensing for general and specialty contractors is handled by the WV Division of Labor. Prior to your contractor’s license application, you want to make sure you have everything in line. This may include registering your business, scheduling exams, purchasing a surety bond and worker’s compensation insurance, paying the required fees, etc.

The West Virginia Division of Labor categorizes several types of contracting work and based on the scope of the work offers licenses and certifications:

  • Contractor License
  • Crane Operator Certification
  • HVAC Technician Certification
  • Manufactured Housing License
  • Plumber Certification

If you want to get a specialty trade license, the process of licensing, exams, fees, and requirements may slightly be different from the general contractor’s license. Make sure to check the licensing statutes and rules before your application for a general or specialty trade contractor’s license.

Do you need a contractor’s license in West Virginia?

In West Virginia, if you perform works under $2,500 in labor and materials on your contracting project you don’t need to be licensed. However, keep in mind that contracting businesses should obtain a license and every license classification has its own cost limit that will be discussed in this article, later.

If you don’t follow up on the licensing laws & regulations you will be fined. Remember, field inspectors, are performing inspections all over the state to make sure contractors are following the licensing rules.

How much work can you do without a contractor license in Virginia?

Contractors who perform any project that exceeds $1,000 in labor and materials should be licensed. In some cases, the amount may differ depending on the classification of the license. Here, we will break down the cost limit of each contractor license type for which you may need to be licensed:

  • General Building. If you perform construction, repair, or any kind of general building works that have a project of more than $1,000 you should obtain a general building contractor license
  • Electrical. When your total project of this specialty exceeds $1,000 you need to get an electrical contractor license.
  • Plumbing. You need to get a plumbing contractor’s license if the amount of total contracting work is over $2,500.
  • HVAC. The HVAC contractor’s license is mandatory if your contracting project of this specialty trade exceeds $1,000.
  • Residential. Contractors working on residential property that has a project amount of more than $1,000 should obtain a residential contractor’s license.

How do I get a handyman license in WV?

To earn your contractor’s license in West Virginia, we have listed the main steps you need to go through. Here is the licensing process you need to undertake:

  • Contact the WV Division of Labor, Contractor Licensing Board, and let them know about your scope of the work you want to apply for. Based on your work the board will verify the classification and examination requirements to get a license.

You can send your request to [email protected].

  • Schedule your exam date with ProV by contacting them at (866) 720-7768 or (304) 414-0190, Extension 3. You will be assigned to take the Business and Law exam and in some cases the trade exam as well.

To take the exam you should be a full-time employee (payrolls are required), officer, member, or owner.

  • West Virginia requires every business structure to register with WV Tax Department and obtain a business registration tax number.

To get more info about registration contact the WV State Tax Department at (304) 558-3333 or (800) 982-8297.

  • In addition to the business registration tax number, you may also need registration with the West Virginia Secretary of State.

You can contact a Business Specialist at (866) 767-8683 or (304) 558-8000 to decide whether your business entity needs to be registered or not.

  • Purchase worker’s compensation and unemployment insurance if you have employees. If you have questions about worker’s compensation contact West Virginia Insurance Commissioner’s Office at: (304) 414-0539.

To get info about unemployment insurance contact Workforce West Virginia at (304) 558-2451.

  • Obtain a wage bond if you have employees. The amount of wage bond depends on your company’s payroll.
  • Complete the application form and send it with the required paperwork and the processing fee to the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board.
Mary H

Mary H

Being a skilled creative writer and SEO content writer, with 2+ years of experience I can't imagine any other profession to fulfill my life as much as writing does. As a proud member of geek culture, I enjoy reading, writing, watching Sci-Fi gems, while also advocating the involvement of young, bright-minded girls and women in STEM research. Latter was largely the result of working at UNESCO Chair, Life Sciences International Postgraduate Educational Center as an editor of scientific journals.