West Virginia Nursing License

West Virginia Nursing License

As of now, professional nurses are in high demand. The reason for this is that they carry out a variety of duties and promote the healthcare system.

Especially, licensed nurses are very demanded as they have the qualification to deal with patients and practice nursing.

The West Virginia RN Board takes responsibility for the nurse licensure, by issuing licenses and establishing field-related rules. Hereby, the body contributes to the protection of public health, safety, and welfare.

If you want to become a part of this field, as well as get your nursing license, then continue reading the well-explained steps.

How do I get a West Virginia nursing license?

Obtaining a nursing license in West Virginia is not as simple as you may imagine. There are a series of necessary steps and requirements to undergo.

Step 1: Earn your nursing degree

The state of West Virginia requires future nurses to enroll in a state-approved professional nursing program and obtain a nursing degree. You may consider getting a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) or an Associate’s degree (ADN).

Nowadays, most healthcare system favor those, who hold a Bachelor’s degree in nursing. The reason for this is that BSNs study longer and, consequently, possess more knowledge to work with the patients.

ADNs, on the other hand, get to have their nursing degree earlier and start working as professional nurses sooner. There are several programs, which offer getting an ADN in one institution, then continuing BSN in another.

Whatever degree you choose, one thing is certain-you will need to study a lot. Nurses conduct physical exams, take detailed health care histories, provide counseling and coordinate care. Therefore, nursing is a responsible profession as you take responsibility for a patient’s health.

Step 2: Apply for the registered nurse license

Once you finish the educational requirements, you are to apply for the West Virginia nursing license.

There are two certifications in the application packet. The first one is to ensure that you are of good moral character. A person, who has known you for more than five years, must sign this document.

The second one is to prove that you have graduated from the nursing program, without any academic dishonesty. Respectively, the director or dean of the nursing program has to sign the given document.

You may find the application form on the official website of the West Virginia RN Board.

Note that you must pay $70 fee for application.

Step 3: Criminal history check

A criminal history check is to be done before licensing. This requirement is to assure that you do not have past felonies or offenses.

If you are a West Virginia resident, then you can schedule a meeting with the Board’s approved vendor. Otherwise, you will need to do the prints at a local law enforcement agency. Please note that, in this case, the process may take longer.

Step 4: The National Council Licensure Examination

As in other states, in West Virginia you must take the NCLEX-RN to qualify for a professional licensed nurse.

You must take your time and register for the exam online. The examination fee is $200 per attempt.

In case you fail, you may retake the exam. Nevertheless, you cannot take the exam more than eight times in a year.

Contact Information

West Virginia RN Board
101 Dee Drive, Suite 102
Charleston, WV 25311-1620
TEL: 304-558-3596
FAX: 304-558-3666

How long does it take to get a West Virginia nursing license?

Starting from the day you apply for the West Virginia nursing license, you will get it in about two weeks. Providing that you attach the required documents and transcripts, there will not be license delays.

The entire licensing process, as one may guess, actually takes longer as there are many requirements. One of the most important requirements is earning a nursing degree, which is not a piece of cake. It will take you about two years for the AND program, and four years for the BSN.

Is West Virginia a compact state for nursing?

No, the state of West Virginia does not participate in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Therefore, nurses from other states need a nursing license, or a temporary permit to practice as nurses.

The appropriate body must issue the nursing license.

If you hold your nursing license in another state, then you may apply by endorsement.

Renew your West Virginia nursing license

In the state of West Virginia, the nursing license renewal occurs every year.

If you need to renew your license, then sign in to your nurse portal account. After you log into the nurse portal, you will see a link on your portal dashboard.

If you do not remember your password, then click on the “Forgot your password” link. The latter will send you a link to reset your password. Note that the link expires in 24 hours.

It is a requirement that all renewals go through the portal. Thus, if you do not know how to use a computer, or have problems with using the portal, feel free to ask a local for help.

Not to forget about the West Virginia requirement for continuing education. To clarify, you will need to complete 12 hours of continuing courses to keep your nursing license up-to-date.

Seda S

Seda S

Seda has four years of professional experience as a multilingual content writer. She employs SEO principles and rules to come up with original and SEO-friendly articles. Seda also has editing, proofreading, researching, and translating skills, which help to produce better content. She has written a number of articles for a wide range of websites that look for unique and genuine content. She has written targeted content for consumer portions, and she is specialized in writing guest posts, digital marketing, wellness, beauty, and other articles. Furthermore, she has prepared guides and helping materials for websites, which help people seeking licensure in all areas. Seda has also used brand new writing techniques and style based on the article while contributing to readability, accuracy, and tonality.