West Virginia Security License

West Virginia Security License

A Security guard’s duty is to protect people, places, or property, prevent risky situations, and decrease the level of criminal activity. This is precisely why this field became extremely popular and in high demand.

Anyone who wants a security officer job in West Virginia should have a card. This requirement aims to prevent unsafe practices and ensure that the person is competent for the job.

The first steps towards getting a certificate can be overwhelming, but don’t worry; we’ve done the research and will help you learn everything you need to know.

How to get a West Virginia Security guard license?

Safety officers that perform duties for a firm do not need to file a state-level request. The firm is responsible for hiring specialists who meet the criteria mentioned above.

In other words, you don’t have to apply for a WV security guard license to work for a company. The employing agency has to inform the State about everyone working for him. However, be ready to submit your fingerprints along with a passport-size photo.

Main qualifications

The West Virginia Secretary of State regulates the licensing process.

There is a set of basic requirements that apply for everyone who wants to provide protection services:

  • Be 18 years old or above.
  • Have US citizenship/legal residency.
  • Be of good moral character.
  • Previously have not revoked or denied a permit.
  • Have a clean criminal history.
  • Have no narcotics addiction or drinking issues and records of selling or buying stolen goods.
  • Complete 18 hours of a training program.
  • Have no disabilities preventing him from his calling.

Your qualifications can be based on:

  • Employment — Your employer has to send a notarized paper saying about your competency and skills.
  • Coursework — Provide a paper proving that you’ve passed the practice.
  • Military Service — A document proving that you received the necessary skills during your duty.

Private security guard standards

A private safety officer provides services himself and does not employ any other professional. In case you want to start a business and run a firm, you should go for a Business certificate.

For obtaining a private watchman card, you need a minimum of one year of prior experience as a safety officer in a firm or related field (e.g., Military Service).

It may also be a combination of classes and experience. 50 weeks of 32 hours or 15 semester hours of practice with six months of a full-time job can be considered one year of experience.

How to acquire a West Virginia private security guard license?

  • File an application.
  • Insert passport size photo taken within twelve months from the inquiry date.
  • Make a payment of $150.
  • Run a background check.
  • Submit proof of the schooling or related occupation.
  • Include characteristics from five US citizens who have known you for more than five years.
  • Submit a completed guaranty of $5000 or liability insurance proof.

You should also request official West Virginia fingerprint cards if you make the request online. Another way is to get fingerprinted at any law enforcement bureau.

West Virginia armed security guard license qualifications

Carrying a weapon is a huge responsibility that requires a deep knowledge of safety instructions and legal norms. Hence, you have to go through a far more serious training process. This will include hours of learning how to handle a firearm, self-defense, and safety rules.

The number of necessary exercising hours and credibility differs for each state. If you want to obtain a West Virginia Armed guard card and carry a firearm, in addition to the basic requirements, you should also:

  • Be at least 21 years old.
  • Pass additional lessons on how to handle safely fire weapons.

You do not need to go through additional training if you have experience operating as a policeman, military personnel, or individual investigator. However, you will still have to register and pass the authentication through the State office to receive the card.

How to renew the permit?

You may renew your certificate for a two-year term by taking the following steps:

  • Complete the online renewal form.
  • Make a $50 payment.
  • Choose one of the following methods of proof of bond.
  • Renew your existing surety bond (In case your surety company does not renew your bond, you must obtain a new one).
  • Provide proof of liability insurance.
  • Attach passport size photo (a photo you took within a year from your application date).

You can request the application packet by emailing [email protected] or calling (304) 558-8000.

Lilit K

Lilit K

Lilit K is a junior content writer who primarily focuses on blog posts. She is an innovative and creative person. Despite the fact that she is new to writing content, she is eager to learn new skills and completes each task carefully and attentively, which allows her to finish all of the assignments on time and effectively. She plans her day beforehand and has excellent time management skills. Lilit provides plagarism-free content.